Talk to us?

Apostille Birth Certificate by MEA | Apostille Attestation Services

Birth Certificate is a proof and evidence of date of Birth, Name of Parents or Legal Guardians, Nationality, Place of Birth etc. of a new born. The Birth Certificate is a mandatory and very crucial Document for every citizen. When an Indian is planning to go overseas for higher study or better job purpose, then Attested or Apostilled Birth Certificate is required.

When a person is preparing to go abroad then they have to present their Attested or Apostille Birth Certificate from the concerned department of Government of India and the Embassy or Consulate of the destination Country present in India at the time of visa processing. The Attested or Apostille Birth Certificate is require in abroad to ensure the authenticity and genuineness of the Birth Certificate of the candidate.

When Attestation, Apostille or Embassy Legalization is concern then all the Countries could be typed as Hague Conventional Country (HCC) and on the other hand is non-HCC Countries. The Attestation or Apostille processes of Birth Certificate for two are different as under.

Apostille, pronounced as ’ah-pos-tile’, is a ‘French’ word which meaning is re-authentication. In India the ‘Apostille’ Process was started in the year 2008. The Apostille Attestation process, Departments and Authorities with Signatory are fully controlled and designed by Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) or Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MoFA), Govt. of India.

If the destination is a Hague Conventional Country (HCC) like Netherlands, France, Italy, Spain, Germany, Finland, Denmark, Austria, Turkey, Norway etc. then they require an Apostille Birth Certificate by MEA. Firstly the Birth Certificate will be attested from the State Level Attestation department like Regional Attestation Center (RAC), General Administrative Department (GAD), Home Department, Secretariat, Commissioner, High Commissioner, Sub Divisional Magistrate (SDM) etc. as per the authority given by the MEA to different States. Finally the Apostille on the Birth Certificate will be done by the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA), Govt. of India.

Then again if the Country is a non-Hague Conventional Country (non-HCC) like UAE (Dubai), Kuwait, Qatar, Bahrain, China, Thailand etc. then the Birth Certificate will be Attested and Legalized by the Embassy or Consulate of the Destination Country present in India instated of Apostille by MEA. In this case as per above process the Birth certificate will be Attested from the State Level Attestation Department after that the Birth Certificate will normally be Attested from Ministry of External Affairs (MEA), Govt. of India.

Some Country like Germany, France, Spain, Turkey, Italy, Netherlands, Austria etc. are require translation of Apostille Birth Certificate in the respective language of the destination Country like French, Italian, Spanish, German, Turkish etc. The translation will be done by the authorized Translators of the respective languages are present in Delhi.

Note: The Attestation of the Birth Certificate from the State Level Attestation Department, prior Apostille, is one of the option and not the compulsion for every Hague Conventional Country (HCC) across the World. Before process for Apostille Birth Certificate from MEA, Govt. of India it could be attested from Sub Divisional Magistrate (SDM) Delhi, instated of the Attestation from State Level Attestation from the respective State.

The Apostille Birth Certificate is also applicable for following HCC Countries

Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Singapore , Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom (UK), United States of America (USA), Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia